On the Edge of Freedom


Image

I think the above picture best describes the kind of freedom I’m experiencing. I imagine myself sitting on the edge of a cliff, with legs hanging down, eyes fixed on the sun, or a distance, as I breathe in the air that I am blessed with everyday.

Life is wonderful. Life is beautiful.

By saying that life is wonderful, I don’t mean that life is trouble-free.

By saying that life is beautiful, I don’t mean that life is flawless.

The good and the bad exist, but it depends on how you look at it. It all depends on your perspective. Life is as beautiful as you think it is; it is also as ugly as you think it is.

Now, who doesn’t yearn for freedom?

Whenever I see or think of the word freedom, I think of the people who never once experienced freedom. They may not even know that freedom exists.

I feel like I’ve had too much freedom lately. I’ve almost forgotten how it feels to dread going to work; to school, not forgetting the Monday blues though I’ve never really experienced it before. I’ve forgotten how it feels to be responsible for my best friends’ well being; how it feels to fret over the little things that I did or didn’t do for them.

I miss my best friends. I’m only mentioning my best friends ’cause I’ve met my other friends and my buddies. Best friends are supposedly the ones who are closer to you but it doesn’t work the same way for me. My best friends are always so close yet so far. Recently, I feel so distant from them. It’s like I don’t know where they are. I long for their embrace. I miss their presence.

Am I feeling that way because I’m one who’s on the edge of freedom? Too much freedom on my own. Everyone else seems to be always busy with something. I’m busy in my own way but I always end up being rewarded with some form of freedom.

When you miss someone, you find ways and make the effort to see them. Even if it’s just for a hug or a prep talk. I’ve always hoped to see my best friends again, even if it’s just for 5 minutes.

But then again, who am I to hope for such things? After all, I’m someone who’s always on the edge of freedom; enjoying the splendour of life and wasting my time away. I’m not worth the time.

Nevertheless, life is wonderful. Life is beautiful. Thank you God.

Leave a Reply

